Wiltshire Golf

Sarah Gee (West Wilts) wins the Wiltshire Ladies County Championship.

Wiltshire Golf Ladies County Championship 2019

This event was held at Marlborough on Saturday 1st June. The new Championship format of 36 holes in one day proved to be a success with forty ladies taking part in the category for 0 - 24 handicaps. A further seven ladies took part in the Divisional Championship which was an18 Hole Stableford (Handicaps 25 -36).

Throughout the 36 holes Marlborough proved to be challenging with tricky rough catching any ball that ran off the fairways. Players were rewarded with greens that were true and receptive.

The Championship Salver was won by Sarah Gee from West Wilts and Portia Abbott (Kingsdown GC) won the Taunton Bowl as runner up.

The Barber Dish for the best handicap score in 36 holes was won by Alex Scott (Marlborough) with Portia Abbott (Kingsdown GC) as runner up.

Katie Walls (Wrag Barn) won the Deacon Cup awarded for the best scratch score in 36 holes for those 21 and under. Karen Gosling (Marlborough) was awarded the Sybil Parsons Plate for the best scratch score for those over forty.

Wrag Barn won the Team Shield with a score of 498 and the runners up were Kingsdown GC with a score of 513.

Margaret Hiscock (Chippenham) won the Divisional Championship with a score of 33 points with Amanda Conrad (Marlborough) runner up with 32 points.

Wiltshire Golf would like to say a big thank you to everyone at Marlborough Golf Club  for making the day so special. Thank you also to the greekeeping staff for all their hard work, to Jan and Lynn for their organisation and to the volunteers who helped make the day run smoothly.


Photographs of presentation below:-

 Sarah Gee (West Wilts) is presented with the Championship Salver by Carol Main – President of Wiltshire Golf


Portia Abbott (Kingsdown GC) is presented with the Taunton Bowl

Alex Scott (Marlborough) is presented with the Barber Dish


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.